Create a free Feed & Grain account to continue reading

Missouri Corn Growers Association highlights key priorities

At its annual gathering the association emphasized industry advocacy, elected board members and celebrated influential leaders and supporters.

The Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) held its annual meeting and legislative day in Jefferson City, Missouri, bringing together corn farmers, industry representatives, and guests from across the state. The event at the Capitol Plaza Hotel commenced with MCGA's annual meeting, where members reviewed financials, heard from industry leaders, and elected new board members.

Missouri Governor Mike Parson delivered the keynote address, emphasizing the significance of the corn and ethanol industries in the state. The newly elected board members representing various districts include Dylan Rosier of Mound City for District 1, Adam Casner of Carrollton for District 2, Brian Willott of Mexico for District 3, Greg Bertz of Mayview for District 4, and Danny Kuenzel of Washington for District 6.

Following the meeting, growers proceeded to the State Capitol to discuss the importance and economic impact of Missouri's corn and ethanol sectors with state legislators.

MCGA Vice President Brian Lehman of Versailles highlighted the crucial role of grassroots efforts in the association's success. He emphasized the importance of sharing farmers' stories and experiences with policymakers in Jefferson City and Washington, D.C., and the need for effective communication and education in the political arena.

The event also provided an opportunity to recognize key industry supporters for their contributions. Award recipients included Congressmen Mark Alford, Sam Graves, and Blaine Luetkemeyer; State Representatives Dane Diehl, Kurtis Gregory, and Greg Sharpe; and State Senators Justin Brown, Sandy Crawford, Karla Eslinger, and Lincoln Hough.

Special awards were presented to 'Farmer' Dave Schumacher of KTRS with the Outstanding Partner award, Don Nikodim of the Missouri Pork Association as the Outstanding Advocate, and Governor Mike Parson and Jay Schutte of Benton City with the President’s Award. Clint Stephens of Advance received the Honorary Lifetime Award, with Jay Schutte also being recognized for his years of service.

The Missouri Corn Growers Association, a membership organization of farmers, is dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA actively works on key agricultural issues and advocates for pro-agriculture and pro-corn legislation, playing a pivotal role in supporting and advancing the interests of corn farmers in Missouri.

Page 1 of 74
Next Page