Create a free Feed & Grain account to continue reading

GEAPS Honors Grain Industry Leaders

Awards have not been presented since 2019

2 Lisa Selfie December 2020 Headshot
Barbara Grove, GEAPS president of the International Board of Directors, begins the awards ceremony. Photo: Lisa Cleaver
Barbara Grove, GEAPS president of the International Board of Directors, begins the awards ceremony. Photo: Lisa Cleaver

On Sunday morning, during GEAPS Exchange 2022 in Kansas City, grain industry leaders were recognized with the association's highest honors.

“Today is a long time coming,” said Barb Grove with Central Valley Ag and president of the International Board of Directors for GEAPS. “We haven't presented these awards since 2019.”

Industry Leader Award: David Krejci, Dr. Carol Jones and Randy Gordon

This honors three industry professionals who have made extraordinary contributions to the grain industry. This award recognizes people who have made a significant positive difference for the advancement in the industry.

David Krejci has been working in the grain industry for more than 35 years. He was the former executive director of GEAPS and the GEAPS foundation. His nominators reflected on Krejci's relentless determination and work ethic, his ability to produce positive results, and working successfully across a diverse, diverse set of industry companies, government entities, and academia.

Krejci leaves a legacy of GEAPS credibility and brand recognition. The institution of the GEAPS strategic reserve fund, and the facility design conference, which was the basis for GEAPS Distance Education Program, the credentialing program, and the formation of the GEAPS’ foundation.

Dr. Carol Jones is a retired professor from Oklahoma State University but remains active in the industry. She's an instructor with Oklahoma State's Fire Service Training, Grain and Trap Rescue program.

She is also the owner of Cl Jones Consulting, as well as a renowned and frequent speaker and educator in the industry. Jones and her team have trained thousands of industry professionals and fire rescue teams for prevention and rescue.

Randy Gordon recently retired from his longtime role as president and CEO of the National Grain and Feed Association. Gordon worked tirelessly to make things better for those who work in agriculture. His fingerprints are all over the Indian federal acreage titling programs, the Freedom to Farm Act and lifesaving technology and safety practices.

Corbett Award: Colin McClure and Perry Nettles

The Corbett Award is named after lifetime GEAPS member John Corbett of the Kansas City. The award honors GEAPS Associate Members who have demonstrated extraordinary volunteer leadership on behalf of all associate members in pursuit of team's mission.

Colin Maclaurin has been a part of GEAPS for nearly 40 years. He's built quite a resume with GEAPS over the years on the national level and within his own chapter. He served as director on GEAPS International Board of Directors and volunteered for several positions on the associate board of directors.

Perry Nettles, the south region manager for Ecolab Specialty Pest Services, has worked in the grain industry for nearly 30 years. Over those years, Nettles has worked very closely with grain facility managers and maintenance personnel to develop effective insect control using fogging and fumigation methods.

His leadership in this field has helped the industry by providing information education and training programs to meet operational needs.

International Member of Distinction: Mark Fedji, Steve Myers, Dave Marr and Wes O'Bannon

The International Member of Distinction Award recognizes members who have made extreme extraordinary contributions to advancing GEAPS mission.

These are people who not only make a difference for their local chapter, but also who work for greater good for chiefs as an organization. Individuals given this honor our grain industry professionals who consistently demonstrate volunteer leadership qualities that epitomize chiefs core values.

Mark Fedji works as an operations manager at General Mills and has been a part of GEAPS since the 80s. He was on the membership committee for nearly 20 of those years and also served on the International Board of Directors in many leadership roles, including director, treasurer, president and board chairman, serving for more than 13 consecutive years.

Fedji has also been involved with the Minneapolis chapter, serving as an officer more director and member of the exchange host Advisory Council recruiter and an overall GEAPS advocate.

Steve Myers is a member of the Kansas City Chapter, the membership committee, and also the host Advisory Council. Myers continues to give his time to the people and mission of GEAPS. He also serves on the GEAPS Foundation Board.

Dave Maher is well known and respected in the grain industry at home in Michigan and beyond. He started his career in the grain industry back in 1969. Before he even graduated school, he stayed with the same company now called Michigan agricultural commodities until his retirement a few years ago,

Maher joined GEAPS when he first got his management role got his first management role in 1998 and has given a lot of his time to GEAPS over the years. He filled many leadership roles with the Michigan South Ontario chapter and GEAPS International Board of Directors.

He has also been involved with the Student Day and Exchange and served on GEAPS membership committee.

Wes O'Bannon has been incredibly dedicated to GEAPS. His career working with cooperatives goes back to 1992. And he's now the Central Valley AGS Vice President of Operations for Kansas. O’Bannon has served on as the board chairman, director, secretary treasurer, vice president and president of the Great Plains chapter.

O’Bannon has also served on GEAPS International Board of Directors as a member of the Chapter Resource Committee and later as Chairman of the combined CRC and membership committee.

Page 1 of 10
Next Page