Create a free Feed & Grain account to continue reading

New Chairs for Senate, House Ag Panels After Election

Agriculture chairs, minority-party leaders often decide final terms of legislation drafted by their committees

Capitol 273344 1920

Southerners could lead both of the Agriculture committees in Congress as a result of Tuesday’s general election, which trimmed the majorities Republicans hold in the Senate and Democrats hold in the House, reports Successful Farming.

Rep. David Scott of Georgia was first in seniority to succeed chairman Collin Peterson of Minnesota on the House Agriculture Committee, and Sen. John Boozman of Arkansas was in line to chair the Senate panel.

The Agriculture chairs and the minority-party leaders on the committees often decide the final terms of legislation drafted by their committees. Disputes over farm policy tend to run along regional lines, so it is an advantage to have an advocate among the “four corners,” as the leaders are known.

Michigan Sen. Debbie Stabenow is the senior Democrat on the Senate Agriculture Committee. Republicans have three candidates for their top spot.

Page 1 of 71
Next Page